The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) is composed of 19 voting members, three of whom are ex-officio members. Each Commissioner is appointed to a four-year term.

Appointed by the Governor

Name Representation Jurisdiction
Hon. Dana M. Middleton Chair Baltimore City
Richard A. Finci, Esq. Criminal Defense Attorney Montgomery
Richard E. Gibson Law Enforcement Carroll
Rodney R. Davis Local Detention Centers Baltimore City
Robert H. Harvey, Jr., Esq. State’s Attorney Calvert
Brian D. Johnson, Ph.D. Criminal Justice Policy Expert  
Alethea P. Miller Victims’ Advocacy Group Harford
Kyle E. Scherer, Esq. Public Prince George’s
Larry L. Johnson Public Anne Arundel


Appointed by the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals of Maryland

Name Representation Jurisdiction
Hon. Melanie M. Shaw
  MSCCSP Vice-Chair
Appellate Courts Prince George’s
Hon. Brian L. DeLeonardo Circuit Court Carroll
Hon. Michelle R. Saunders District Court Calvert

Appointed by the President of the Senate

Name Representation Jurisdiction
Hon. Charles E. Sydnor, III Senator Baltimore County
Hon. Christopher R. West Senator Baltimore County

Appointed by the Speaker of the House

Name Representation Jurisdiction
Hon. J. Sandy Bartlett Delegate Anne Arundel County
Hon. David Moon Delegate Montgomery County

Ex-Officio Members

Name Representation Jurisdiction
Hon. Anthony G. Brown
  Katie Dorian, designee
Attorney General Statewide
Natasha Dartigue, Esq.
  Donald E. Zaremba, designee
Public Defender Statewide
Carolyn J. Scruggs
  Angelina Guarino, designee
Secretary of Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services Statewide