Public Comments Hearing - Minutes

MSCCSP

December 11, 2018

Minutes

Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy 2018 Public Comments Hearing House of Delegates Office Building Annapolis, MD 21041 December 11, 2018, 5:00 p.m.

Commission Members in Attendance:

Honorable Glenn T. Harrell, Jr., Chair

Honorable Shannon E. Avery, Vice-Chair

LaMonte E. Cooke

Martha Danner, representing Secretary Stephen T. Moyer

William M. Davis, Esquire, representing Public Defender Paul B. DeWolfe

Honorable Brian L. DeLeonardo

Barbara Dorsey Domer

Elizabeth Embry, Esquire, representing Attorney General Brian E. Frosh

Richard A. Finci, Esquire

Honorable Patrice E. Lewis

Colonel William M. Pallozzi

Honorable James P. Salmon

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario

Staff Members in Attendance:

Sarah Bowles Stacy Najaka, Ph.D. David Soulé, Ph.D. Molly Triece

Note: The views expressed in the public hearing testimony are those of the speaker(s) and do not reflect the official policy, position, or opinions of the Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP). The MSCCSP does not endorse the content of the testimony, nor does it guarantee the accuracy, reliability, or completeness of the information.

The public comments hearing began at 5:00 pm. Two Maryland residents registered to speak but were not in attendance. The joint written testimony of these individuals, submitted in advance of the meeting, is summarized below.

Maryland residents' written testimony

Two Maryland residents submitted comments regarding Maryland's pardoning policy. These individuals believe that Maryland should reduce the number of years that non-violent felons must wait until applying for a Governor's pardon. The written testimony from these individuals notes that non-violent felons currently wait 20 years to become eligible for a Governor's pardon.